top of page

9 Things

9 things I am loving on this, the 9th of October.


1. Grateful for: Friendship.

Cliché as it may be, friendship is vital and valuable. In fact, it is even a command. One cannot be an individual Christian, we are built for relationships, just as our God is a relational God. Over the years I have had seasons with lots of close friends but also seasons of solitude when I didn't ask for it nor want it. I've recently been walking in a season full of friendships. Work friends, church friends, life friends. Each unique and purposeful. It is a season on soul-fulfilling time and I am so grateful.


2. Scripture I'm loving

"He is the radiance of the glory of God and the exact imprint of his nature, and he upholds the universe by the word of his power. After making purification for sins, he sat down at the right hand of the Majesty on high..." Hebrews 1:3


3. Hobby - bracelet making (here)

In the last few months, I have been making beaded bracelets. It began as a pseudo-joke, a friend wanted to make them for a concert we attended in August and so I started doing it as well. Now, several months later, I like to pull out my beads on a quiet night and use my hands to create something rather then spend time watching Netflix. I enjoy beading with friends while we catch up and talk about life. Being a self-diagnosed (and online test but how accurate is that?) ADHD woman, doing things with my hands helps me focus during conversations.


4. Book of the month

Recommended by a friend on social media, this book has been life changing and life giving to my prayer life. Giving you practical tips as well as real life examples, Staton addresses prayer in a real way that is perspicuous and immediately applicable.

"Solitude is the furnace of transformation. Without solitude we remain victims of our society and continue to be entangled in the illusions of the false struggle and the great encounter - the struggle against the compulsions of the false self, and the encounter with the loving God who offers himself as the substance of the new self." Henri Nouwen


5. Recent quote that stuck with me

"This love is the power that first created order into existence, and most supremely you, the pinnacle of creation. He created you in order to love you. He knit you together with his hands, so that he could pull you into his heart." Deeper by Dane Ortlund


I am a big lover of art. I love viewing museums in the cities I travel to, specifically European museums because I also get to love the architecture of the building as well. Typically, I lean towards Greco-Roman art from 150-190 BCE, primarily sculpture at that. The Picasso museum in Barcelona is hands down the worst museum I've ever been to; cubism and surrealism are not it for me. Modern art is beautiful, especially Monet's Waterlillies which is on display at the Musee l'Orangerie in Paris. Currently, I am loving "We rise from the depths" by Kaitlyn Rose Leventhal. I personally own multiple of her works and each of them is so special.


7. Music Stephen Stanley

A recent discovery (thank you insta) whom I am loving. If you've been reading my posts throughout this year, you know that I have been on a search for Christian music that is more than just the typical worship music that is most often advertised. Stephen Stanley is the kind of music I love (think Mayday Parade, Go Radio, a little bit Goo Goo Dolls vibes) but with words that matter. I cannot stress enough the importance of putting good things into our heads, even if we think we aren't paying attention.


8. Recent purchase

Levi's premium 70's high flare - I recently bought these off of Poshmark (my favorite secondhand shopping website) and I adore them.


9. Podcast Practicology

Saturday I spent the day at Jackson Gospel Hall, a church similar to mine in Jackson, MI, and listened to some thought provoking and encouraging ministry. The speaker, one Matthew Cain, has spoken on similar topics on his podcast, Practicology, and I encourage you to take a listen to his recent episode, "Dating with discernment" for a snippet of what he spoke on last weekend.


Happy Thanksgiving, Canadian friends!


bottom of page