top of page

These Marks

I look in the mirror

Trying to see what you saw

These marks on my skin I though they were flaws


"No!" You cried, kissing my jaw

Making your mark

With your lips

Your teeth

Your tongue

My heart was screaming

"He's the one."


Two weeks later

Now all that's left

Are these marks on my skin

And the lies that you catered


"You don't know me," you said

But whose fault is that?

I was swept off my feet

Now my heads hit the mat


I am angry, I try

I will fight, I scream

"I'm disinterested," was your reply

You shattered my dreams


Now I look in the mirror

And see who I am.

These marks are my armor

These freckles, my friend.


I know who I am,

I know WHOSE I am,

There is one who loves me truly

And He has a plan


So I lift up my head, I will not cower

Until the day

Someone climbs up my tower


One who will see my marks

Who will cherish my scars

And tell me the truth starkly

Of those he carries


One who loves Him

As much as I do

And will lead me to glory

My whole life through.

bottom of page